Skip to content

Baking for Boobs

August 18, 2011

I spent yesterday making yummy oat bars to try to increase the quantity and quality of my breastmilk which has so far been the equivalent of a very small side salad and some brown rice. Maddie-Ane has been distinctly underwhelmed.
In my desperation I have taken domperidone, made myself and baby reek of old curry with huge doses of fenugreek and pumped milk in every spare second. All to no avail.

So I’m going to try a gentler route by following some of the wonderful suggestions in ‘Mother Food’ by Hillary Jacobson. This lovely book draws together the traditions of breastfeeding nutrition and offers some great recipes.

I adapted this one for breakfast bars as I am terrified of porridge. Yes that’s right. I am scared of the most harmless of breakfasts. Shudder.

Breakfast bars

2 cups of oats
1/2 cup of wheat germ
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup sesame seeds
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup flaked almonds
1/2 cup dried fruit including dates and apricot
1/2 cup honey
3/4 cup boiling water

Chuck all the dried stuff in one bowl. Melt the honey in the boiling water. Mix it all together. Spread in in a greaseproof paper lined baking tray. Shove in the oven at 180 for 15 minutes. Allow to cool then cut.

All of the ingredients are lactogenic.

They are not the most handsome food though. Humm.

20110818-105210.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. poppa T permalink
    August 18, 2011 12:39 pm

    Mmm poridge.

  2. August 20, 2011 5:38 am

    That is certainly a new phobia to me! What made you scared of it?! I’m intrigued…

    • August 23, 2011 8:30 pm

      Not sure what caused it but it makes me gag and shudder. Horrible milky lumpy stuff.

  3. August 20, 2011 5:44 am

    I just deleted yr comment by mistake. Very sorry!!!!!

  4. August 27, 2011 10:13 pm

    Oh I do hope it worked! Kat x

Leave a Reply

